Echo Weblog

a blog about my daily life, passions and happenings

Lino Block cutting & Design Development workshop

 

Lino Block cutting & Design Development workshop 26/3/12 New Brewery Arts, Cirencester

Lino printing is quite simple and fun…I always wanted to give it a try so I took part in a day class with Sophia Blackwell, an amazing textile designer and printer where learned the basics of block printing.

Our tutor first introduced us to the materials fabric, inks, equipment, technique ……and most important safety rules because when you cut the lino with sharp tools (lino blades) it can be dangerous! Then asked us to draw a simple design or few designs and cut our own lino block(s) and print up in the end a final piece like a tea towel, a handkerchief or a bag all handmade by us!

I come up with three lino blocks: a boat, a geometric pattern and a flower with sun

I experimented with different colours and materials on fabric and paper to see how the colours would blend  together and I was pleased with the results…. My final piece was bag and a hanky for my husband – I love the finished product.

The good thing about it  is that I can use and re-use the lino blocks as often as I like…same designs….multiple times …..in different colours!!Awesome!!

All in all it was a lot of fun and full of inspiration day and I’m looking forward to trying more in the nearer future!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

